which was a separate colony till 1866, was united in that year to the mainland colony.

The North-west Territories were acquired by purchase in 1870. Other provinces joined subsequently. The islands and territory of Northern British America were transferred to the Dominion by the British Government in 1880, and the Confederation as it exists to-day was completed, Newfoundland alone, of all the British North American group, remaining outside

- 15. Representative institutions were granted by the British Government to Nova Scotia in 1758, to Prince Edward Island in 1770, and to New Brunswick in 1785. Vancouver Island received them in 1849 by Impl. Stat. 12 and 13 Vic., chap. 48, the first Legislature meeting in 1856; the mainland was granted them in 1858 by Impl. Stat. 21 and 22 Vic., chap. Responsible government was given by the Imperial Parliament to the Province of Canada in 1841, but not definitely established till 1847; to Nova Scotia and New Brunswick in 1848; to Prince Edward Island in 1851, and to British Columbia in 1871. The North-west Territories were governed at first under the administration of the Lieutenant-Governor of Manitoba; then by a Lieutenant-Governor and Council nominated by the Dominion Government (Act of 1880); then by a Lieutenant-Governor and by a Council, part elected and part nominated; then, in 1888, by a Lieutenant-Governor and Elective Assembly. In the Session of 1890 the Federal Parliament provided for the adoption of responsible government.
- 16. Appended is a list of the Governors General and Governors of the several provinces before Confederation, together with the years of office.

## GOVERNORS GENERAL OF CANADA.

1534.	Jacques Cartier, Captain General.
1540.	Jean François de la Roque, Sieur de
	Roberval.
1598.	Marquis de la Roche.
1600.	Capitaine de Chauvin (Acting).
1603.	Commandeur de Chastes.
1607.	Pierre du Guast de Monts, LtGeneral.
1608.	Comte de Soissons, 1st Viceroy.
1612.	Samuel de Champlain, LtGeneral.
1633.	do do 1st Gov. Gen'l.
1635.	Marc Antoine de Bras de fer de Cha-
	teaufort (Administrator).
1636.	Chevalier de Montmagny.
	Chevalier d'Ailleboust de Colonge.

FRENCH.

1651. Jean de Lauzon.

1656. Charles de Lauzon-Charny (Admr.)

1657. D'Ailleboust de Coulonge.
1658. Viscount de Voyer d'Argenson.
1661. Baron Dubois d'Avaugour.

## FRENCH.

1663. Chevalier de Saffray de Mésy. 1665. Marquis de Tracy.

1665. Chevalier de Courcelles.

1672. Count de Frontenac. 1682. Sieur de la Barre.

1685. Marquis de Denonville. 1689. Count de Frontenac.

1699. Chevalier de Callières. 1703. Marquis de Vaudreuil.

1714-16. Comte de Ramsay (Acting). 1716. Marquis de Vaudreuil.

1725. Baron (1st) de Longueuil (Acting).

1726. Marquis de Beauharnois.

1747. Count de la Galissonière.<sup>2</sup> 1749. Marquis de la Jonquière.

1752. Baron (2nd) de Longueuil. 1752. Marquis Duquesne-de-Menneville. 1755. Marquis de Vaudreuil-Cavagnal.

- 1. Marquis de Tracy was the King's Lieut. General in America, and during the period he was in Canada, 30th June, 1665, to 28th August, 1667, he was virtually Governor of Canada.
  - 2. Acting during captivity of La Jonquière.